Happy Holidays: Rum Balls

rum ballsFirst of all I want to say a huge thank you to everyone who donated to the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation of Canada’s fundraiser Cook for the Cure. I did not make it to the culinary showdown, but I did raise $110.

I can’t believe the Christmas season is already here! Every year I always bake cookies, ranging from biscotti to gingerbread men, and this year I thought I’d share a recipe with everyone. Instead of just posting a recipe, I thought it would be fun to pay it forward.

I encourage my readers to send a holiday card to their family and friends and include my rum ball recipe. It doesn’t have to be fancy, just print the recipe and pop it into a card. It will add another element to your holiday wishes. The recipe for rum balls is below, and if you want to send sugar cookies, the recipe can be found here.

I hope you guys have a fun and safe holiday!

Rum Balls

Ingredients:
½ cup butter
½ cup icing sugar
¾ chocolate chips, milk chocolate or semi-sweet
2 eggs slightly beaten
Pinch of salt
5 tbsp rum (extract or actual rum)
312 g vanilla wafers, crushed (1 box)

 Method:

  1. Over a double boiler, melt the butter and chocolate. Slowly stir in the icing sugar until you get a smooth consistency.
  2. Take the chocolate, butter and icing sugar mixture off the heat and quickly mix in the eggs and salt until smooth and thick. (Make sure you do this fairly quickly, you don’t want scrambled eggs in the chocolate) .
  3. Add the wafers and rum and chill for 2-3 hours until stiff.
  4. Shape into balls, and roll in chocolate sprinkles, or icing sugar.

Makes approximately 35 rum balls.

3 thoughts on “Happy Holidays: Rum Balls

Leave a Reply

