Awake Chocolate Breakfast Pastry

Awake Chocolate Breakfast PastryWhen I received the press release about AWAKE Chocolate, a caffeinated chocolate bar, in my inbox about a year ago I was intrigued. I’m not a huge fan of coffee (I know, it is crazy talk coming from someone in the journalism field). It’s the bitterness that gets me, I’ve always been sensitive to it. And when I say sensitive I mean disgusted. So yes, I’m one of those coffee drinkers that go crazy with the sugar. This new way of getting my caffeine fix opened doors for me. (Okay, maybe I’m being a little dramatic, but I was excited).

I was on the hunt to find AWAKE Chocolate.  At the time they were not easily accessible, on their site it said they were sold at Bulk Barn. But my local Bulk Barn hadn’t even heard of them. I was crushed, but always kept my eye out for them.

A couple of weeks ago I was getting ingredients at Bulk Barn, and there they were. Just sitting on one of those displays in the middle of the aisle. I could see the beacon of light around it, just glowing off the shelf. Verdict: they’re freaking delicious. So it makes sense that I incorporated them into my recipe this week.

Making pastry scares the crap out of me. I get ‘Nam like flashbacks of my culinary school days, with butter seeping out the edges of my dough, as my professor shakes her head and writes on her notepad. But I thought I’d tackle it again, but cheat. I’m using a rough-puff pastry recipe, instead of the classic layering technique (or as they call it in the pastry world, laminating), which calls for incorporating the butter directly into the flour.

It didn’t work out quite as well as I hoped, mainly because I didn’t listen to my instinct and kept the butter at room temperature. But don’t worry, I’ve changed the recipe for you guys so make sure it’s cold. It’s the unmelted butter that gives the puff pastry, it’s puff. If the butter melts, you won’t get the layers, so be careful, it’s very easy for the butter to melt while it’s being rolled. Just a quick tip before the recipe: if you find the butter is melting while you are rolling it out, pop it in the fridge for 10 minutes.

Awake Chocolate Breakfast Pastry

Ingredients:
2 cups sifted flour
1 cup butter, cold
100 ml cold water
1 tsp salt

2 AWAKE Milk Chocolate bars

1 egg

 Method: 

  1. Cut the butter into small cubes and incorporate into the sifted flour. Don’t stir, this will cause the butter to melt, the best way is to lightly rub the flour and butter between your fingers. The end result should resemble cornmeal. If the bits of butter are too thick, I usually take two knifes, and chop the flour and butter mixture, while it’s still in the bowl.
  2. Make a well in the flour, and add the water a little bit at a time. Everyone’s dough is a bit different, so may need less or more water. You want to see the dough form a stiff like texture. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  3. On a floured surface, roll the dough into a rectangle, keeping the edges straight, that measures about 15 cm by 30 cm.  Fold the top third down to the centre, and then the bottom third up and over that. Repeat, and place in the fridge for 20 minutes. Preheat the oven to 425 F.
  4. Roll the dough again, folding it like before two times. Roll the dough, still in a rectangle, until it is about 5 mm thick.
  5. Cut, width wise into 8 strips. Place one square of the AWAKE Chocolate onto the edge of the strip, and roll. You can pinch the sides together, or keep the chocolate showing.
  6. Whisk the egg in a bowl, and with a brush, egg wash each pastry. Place on a greased pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until golden brown.

Don’t forget Jen’s Recipe Box is on Facebook, and  Twitter.

One thought on “Awake Chocolate Breakfast Pastry

  1. Pingback: Beef Tenderloin with Awake Chocolate au jus | Jen's Recipe Box

Leave a Reply

